Zack & Nick's Culture Cast

Digesting the lowest rung of pop culture so you don't have to!

“Horrible Bosses 2” – The Nick Review

HB2

I went into Horrible Bosses 2 was absolute dirt-level expectations.  The original was the 2011 summer comedy for me, and I hold it in pretty high esteem of being a genuinely funny movie.  When I got word that this follow-up was dreadful (only a 35% on Rotten Tomatoes), my potential enthuasium for the film dissolved and I was in no hurry to see it anytime soon if ever.  However, a few weeks back, HBO was showing it.  I thought to myself, “Why not?” and sat down to watch it.

And I found that I actually liked it.

I am a little perplexed by the awful reviews.  While this movie is not going to be breaking new ground, it works as a comedy with legitimate funny bits stemming primarily from the trio of Jason Bateman, Charlie Day, and Jason Sudeikis.  The film has the same tone as the original, so it can be argued that Horrible Bosses 2 is more of the same, but I can’t complain.  I was entertained by it and I had some very good belly laughs.

Not everything works, obviously.  The inclusion of Jamie Foxx, Jennifer Aniston, and Kevin Spacey is a kind of forced, and I don’t think the movie needed them necessarily.  Christoph Waltz was an inspired choice for the main antagonist, but he is painfully (and surprisingly) under-utilized (there are long stretches in the film that he is off-screen).

On the flip-side, you have the new addition of Chris Pine, who is absolutely hilarious playing Waltz’s smarmy, arrogant, frat-boy-type son.  Why doesn’t Pine get more work and more mainstream of an actor?  Especially in comedies.  He’s great!

So, I dunno.  I enjoyed Horrible Bosses 2.  Was it as good as the first?  No.  Sequels rarely are.  Was it entertaining?  Yes.  Granted, it was really more of the same, but I’m glad I saw it.

~N

Leave a Reply

