Zack & Nick's Culture Cast

Digesting the lowest rung of pop culture so you don't have to!

Speed Reading! – The Flash #23

Flash Month!

Continuing on from last month’s hotly anticipated first face-off between the Flash and the new Reverse-Flash, we finally get some answers and revelations.

flash23

“Reverse, Part IV”

I suppose it isn’t much of a surprise that the Reverse-Flash is Daniel West, Iris’s brother.  Suspects were getting narrower and narrower.  He was really the only one left (unless it turned out to be someone yet introduced).  The reveal is a bit disappointing.  Maybe my expectations were too high.  I don’t know.  I guess it feels a bit too easy (not nearly as easy had it been Dr. Elias).

Those who have been following my Flash reviews know that I’ve been somewhat frustrated with the character of Daniel since his early appearances.  I knew Manapul and Buccellato had a plan for the character, but it felt like they were spinning their wheels getting to it.  Having him become a villain (especially since he seems as if he wants to write his wrongs) seems a bit out of place.  But, I am willing to give the benefit of the doubt since we don’t know the why or how of the character (to be revealed in an upcoming special issue).  I’ll revisit Daniel as the new villain at that point.

As for the issue itself…well, not much happens.  We get the reveal (at the end) and the rest of it is just one giant fight.  I’ll be honest, I wish there was a bit more story, but I really didn’t mind the battle.  I suppose it feels right to have this extended face-off.  This is a new take on a classic villain.  It is important to show off how he can be a threat to our hero.

We only have one more part of the story proper, and I feel there is a lot more to cover.  In addition to the Reverse-Flash’s threat, we have Iris and her powers in critical condition and Patty and her relationship with Barry (with her parent’s wedding anniversary).  That is a lot of story to cram into one issue, I feel.  Normally, I wouldn’t be too concerned, but with the recent news that Manapul and Buccellato’s run is about to conclude with issue 25 (which is a flashback issue), next time is really “it” to give some closure to all the elements of their run.  Will they be able to do it?  I guess we’ll find out in October!

Next: Daniel West’s secret origin is revealed in two weeks in Reverse Flash #1.  Then come back here in two months for the epic conclusion!

2 responses to “Speed Reading! – The Flash #23

  1. Pingback: Speed Reading! – The Flash #23.2 | The Culture Cast with Zack and Nick

  2. Pingback: Speed Reading! – The Flash #24 | The Culture Cast with Zack and Nick

Leave a Reply

