Zack & Nick's Culture Cast

Digesting the lowest rung of pop culture so you don't have to!

The Back to the Future Trilogy Podcast

This week, Zack and Nick take time out of their busy summer schedules to talk about the classic film trilogy Back to the Future, featuring Michael J. Fox, Thomas F. Wilson, Lea Thompson, and Crispin Glover. What will they have to say about these influential Robert Zemeckis-directed films? Tune in and find out!

Back_to_the_future

Click HERE or on the image to listen to the podcast. As always, click HERE to follow us on iTunes!

-Z-

3 responses to “The Back to the Future Trilogy Podcast

  1. Nick! July 1, 2013 at 9:04 pm

    “Busy summer schedules”

    *snicker*

  2. JD July 19, 2013 at 8:54 am

    I was born in 88 so I only really know the Back to the Future movies from the tv reruns. I’ve probably seen them all three or four times each. I didn’t really disagree with anything you guys said. They are quality movies, the second one is a bit messy but still enjoyable. I don’t love the back to the future movies but I do like them.

    The third one is my least favorite. I think the concept of a time traveling western sounds better on paper than it was in execution. I didn’t really like westerns growing up but even after I started to appreciate them Back to the future 3 doesn’t really do it for me. It felt like a back to the future movie set in the west rather than a western in the way it was shot and that’s not a bad thing it just didn’t sell the western setting to me as believable. Also since Back to the future 3 was made for a wide audience it didn’t have the grittyness that make westerns so much fun and it’s not directed in a very stylish way like some westerns. It’s like in Bill and Ted where they go to all these settings that felt more surreal than genuine but it works with the tone. I still like Back to the Future 3 but it felt more like they were going through the motions whereas 2 felt like it was really trying to branch out from the first one in an ambitious way that I respected. But as you guys said B2TFuture 2 is messy, especially near the end.

    As someone who was 2 years old when the 80s ended I never understood why Michael J Fox was such a big star because the only movies I’ve seen him in were the Back to the future movies which I liked but wasn’t in love with. Now I really like him because he was fantastic in a recent episode of Curb Your Enthusiasm.

    As a small side note at one point you said people don’t look back on the Sam Raimi Spider-man trilogy with the same kind of fondness that people from your generation have for the Back to the Future movies but I definitely do and I know a few other people from my generation who would agree.

    Anyways, I’m not sure why I’m so eager for hoverboards to be real because I can’t skateboard to save my life. I’d probably hurt myself within ten minutes of hoverboarding.

    • CultureCast-Z July 19, 2013 at 1:28 pm

      I think most people generally think the first Spider-Man is ok, the second one is legitimately good, and the third is awful. That’s the general consensus I’ve found, at least.

Leave a Reply

