Zack & Nick's Culture Cast

Digesting the lowest rung of pop culture so you don't have to!

Spoiler Alert: A Lament

Does it bother anyone else that spoilers for movies/TV show are so easy to come across these days?  I guess in the age of the digital information highway this is to be expected.  What bugs me is how free and loose people/bloggers/journalists are with the spoilers.

spoils

About a month ago, I was idly surfing the net, not seeking anything out, and – BAM – a potentially big spoiler for the upcoming Iron Man 3 was unexpectedly thrown in my face.  I was kind of irritated as the spoiler, if it is to be believed, ruined what could have been a pretty interesting story beat if played out as the filmmakers intended (ie. with the audience not knowing).

What is awful is that there is no consistency.  At times, some more “responsible” bloggers will announce that spoilers are ahead in a posting.  Others are complete d-bags and post them in the title (not even giving you the option to not view the spoiler).  Still others will try to be clever in a non-spoiler posting by not talking about the spoiler yet use wording where the reader would all but know what the spoiler is (I was sort of spoiled on M’s fate in Skyfall this way).

I know what you are thinking: “Nick, if you do not like it, do not go to those spoiler sites.”  I have no problems with this.  However, that does not solve the problem.  Too many times, I have noticed anonymous posters on such sites as Coming Soon just post spoilers in the talkback sections of various spoiler-free articles.  Thanks, ass.

I should mention that I have nothing against spoilers, and I think there is some merit for those who want to be spoiler hounds.  It is also fair game once the movie is released to talk spoilers.  I just do not like how these so-called entertainment news blogs are so casual with spoilers for things yet-to-be released.

I suppose the problem is only going to get worse from here as information continues to become more easily accessible.  I do miss the days where you could go into a movie and not know any of the twists and turns beforehand.

This is partially the reason why I am going on a complete blackout for the upcoming Star Trek Into Darkness.  I have seen the poster and watched the tease trailer once.  I do not plan to see or look for anything else.  I do not want to know anything more about it (I do not even know who the recently revealed villain is).  I want to enter the movie completely blind.  I have even gone to the length of hiding people who might unintentionally spoil stuff from my Facebook newsfeed.  This is, of course, going above and beyond.

We will see how this plays out.

~N

8 responses to “Spoiler Alert: A Lament

  1. Glen December 29, 2012 at 5:50 pm

    I used to be a ‘spoiler hog’, especially immediately before, during and more or less after the Star Wars prequels started showing up on the big screen. But since then my enthusiasm for such information as waned, especially the last couple of years. I avoid most of those spoiler-thick sites like the plague. However even general media and new sites like Yahoo, MSN, etc. sometimes through out spoilers in their headlines. This ticks me off more than any other kind of leaked spoiler. It almost feels sort of like ‘shock’ value, ex. “Benedict Cumberbatch to play THIS VILLAIN in next Star Trek!” Sadly, this sort of spoiler was on Yahoo and while not a big spoiler, I didn’t want to know that information. I guess there are worse things in the world, but part of the fun is ruined for me when these spoilers are so In-Your-Face. I watched such movies as the Marvel films, all the Dark Knight films, Prometheus, the Hobbit, etc with almost no info of what the movie was about. About all I knew of any of these movies was just watching their respective trailers, and some of them I avoided. Personally, I think I enjoyed most of those films more just because i knew little to nothing going into the theater or renting the DVD. I knew NOTHING about the latest Spidey flick, except for the villain. I rented it the other day and absolutely loved it. I was surprised with the entire film and thoroughly enjoyed it.

    I’ve been hard pressed to avoid the Man of Steel spoilers which occasionally leak. So far I’ve been lucky. This is a film I want to know as little about as possible. All I have to do is see the worlds Superman or Man of Steel and I look the other way. Ditto for the Star Trek sequel, Iron Man 3, and a few other “lesser” films.

    • Nick! January 2, 2013 at 11:34 am

      When it comes to movie news blogs, it is all about “clicks” and who can get it posted first for some sort of bragging rights. It is kinda sad, in some ways.

  2. CultureCast-Z December 31, 2012 at 3:47 pm

    Nick, I feel you on this one. I had a significant plot point in The Dark Knight Rises spoiled for me courtesy of a front-page Yahoo news article — thanks a lot, sensationalist douche bags!

    You know that I purposely don’t watch trailers or read news on productions that I am seriously interested in. I’ve been that way since I think Attack of the Clones in 2002 (which ended up being a bad movie, but that’s besides the point).

    I do find it harder and harder to go into movies spoiler-free nowadays. I feel the same way about TV shows. And I’ve learned my lesson with Wikipedia too — it was how I accidentally spoiled myself to the fate of several prominent characters in Game of Thrones.

    It’s unfortunate, but we may never get another The Crying Game or The Sixth Sense type of moment in film again.

    • Nick! January 2, 2013 at 11:38 am

      Wikipedia…yeah I agree. If I have to go to the wiki entry of a movie I want to see to look something up, I’ll put my hand over the screen so I won’t catch anything of the summary. But, to be honest, that’s more of a “enter at your own risk”.

      Everywhere else, it is that “gotcha” journalism you were talking to me about a month or so ago.

      • CultureCast-Z January 2, 2013 at 7:23 pm

        The “gotcha” journalism really needs to stop. It’s so evident nowadays that news content generators like Yahoo and its ilk rely on it almost solely to up their page counts. Try going and looking at the Yahoo coverage of the Olympics. The headlines rarely match the content within the articles. It’s infuriating.

  3. Pingback: Nick saw ‘Iron Man 3′ | The Culture Cast with Zack and Nick

  4. Pingback: Trek Tuesday: Into Darkness | The Culture Cast with Zack and Nick

  5. Pingback: Spoiler Alert 2: The Lament Continues… | The Culture Cast with Zack and Nick

Leave a Reply

