Zack & Nick's Culture Cast

Digesting the lowest rung of pop culture so you don't have to!

Review of The Apparition

Suspenseful? Yes. Logical? Not exactly. This movie was full of suspense but I just felt like they were just fighting some bad mold the entire time. I wasn’t expecting much from this movie. To say the least, I got moreMV5BMTU5Mjk0Njk1OV5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTcwMTg4MzU4Nw@@._V1._SY317_CR0,0,214,317_ than I expected. The Apparition was the first film to hit the big screen from director Todd Lincoln and starring Tom Felton (Draco Malfoy from Harry Potter), and Ashley Green (Alice Cullen from Twilight), and some ugly guy who’s been in a few, Sebastian Stan (kudos on the sweet name though). Lisa was scared the entire time and she was just in that. Many horror movies rely on cheap tactics to create suspense and this was no different. So let’s start digging…

I didn’t follow the story because of Draco Malfoy’s (I’m sorry Tom Felton) language was too analytical and scientific. I was waiting the entire movie for somebody to say “In English, please!” Were they doing a ghostbuster scenario trying to capture this ghost? I don’t know.

So the story follows this couple living and maintaining their parents rental property. The boy has done some past ghost hunting in college (who hasn’t?) which is catching up to him. His past beau has been pulled through a wall via a poltergeist and now his current beau starts battling this ghastly mold. Weird things start happening. We see the typical pale girl crawling around, lights flashing, ghastly figures, blah, blah. Draco Malfoy comes back into the picture and we decide to exorcise this bitch. I was really hoping for some blood splatter but I was left disappointed. The movie was under 90 minutes so that’s immediately a letdown for Kyle Boatright. Movies CAN NOT run less than 90. I’ll avoid spoiling the ending but it was a letdown too.  I’m not really sure what happened to the girl.

the-apparition08

Typical ghost story but the camera work is good.  The suspense builds and then stays. I don’t know if this is a good cinematic quality or not, but it was just what I needed. Suspense is a good quality to any horror movie and lately my movies have been deprived. It’s a good movie to watch on a late night looking for a scare, but ultimately it’s a bit too intense (for the horror-phobes that is) and the story is all too lacking and confusing. The timing really condensed the story and felt crammed. Luckily the movie wasn’t boring.

Lastly, the title and tagline are lost on me. They just don’t make sense. The Apparition is a vague enough title for any horror movie. And Once you believe, You Die. ? Okay, maybe it’s because only the 3 of them experienced the séance (By the way, they never addressed what happened to the person who filmed the séance) and therefore, it was only them who viewed the apparition. But that’s not correct because how did the OTHER family’s dog die? Did the dog believe too!? Maybe I just need some clarification on this entire movie.

Imdb.com gave this film a 4.1 out of 10. I don’t rate out of 10, I rate out of 5 (Thank you Netflix for forcing my scale). This film get’s a 3. It’s average, nothing special. I’m not going to go out and buy it and I’m not going to recommend it to you either. Thanks for reading.

3 responses to “Review of The Apparition

  1. Nick! December 7, 2012 at 8:12 am

    Sebastian Stan! He played Captain America’s sidekick, Bucky!

  2. Pingback: Another Story That Might Not Be Written Right Away… « FanFiction Fridays

  3. CultureCast-Z December 7, 2012 at 3:24 pm

    I applaud movies for being less than 90s minutes in some cases. I’ve never seen it, but The Apparition may be one of those cases.

Leave a Reply

