Zack & Nick's Culture Cast

Digesting the lowest rung of pop culture so you don't have to!

An Email From Oliver Stone to Ridley Scott

Hi Culture Casters!  Nick here.  I was checking my email today, and I was oddly CCed on an email from director Oliver Stone to director Ridley Scott.  I’m not sure why I was sent a copy (they must be fans), but I thought I’d share it with you and see what you think.

Hey Ridley!

It’s been a while, my friend.  I hope life has been treating you well.  I am looking forward to your movie coming out this summer.  Seems exciting.

That’s partially the reason why I’m emailing you.  See, I think it is fucking genius what you are doing.  Remember when we tricked everyone into thinking we were good directors over twenty years ago?  I’m still laughing about that.

I honestly can’t believe we are still running that mindset with people today even though we haven’t had a true critical or financial hit in years.  Not that we haven’t been trying.  We’ve just been making a ton of missteps (Honestly, Rid, what the hell was with “Robin Hood”?  You know I’m all about historical revisionism, but yeesh!).  Of course, we are not horrid directors or anything.  Hell, we’re no Brett Ratners, but we’re no Coppolas either.

Anyway, back on topic.  I totally applaud you for what you are doing!  You got this “Prometheus” coming out this summer, which is obviously an “Alien” prequel (even though you keep saying it isn’t – lol).  And now, I hear you’re doing a “Blade Runner” sequel!  You just blew my mind, sir.  The best thing about this is that the internet is in love with you for it!

This is something I tried to test the waters with when I made “Wall Street 2”: the concept of pandering.  I never really truly pandered before, so I wasn’t sure if it was going to work.  I mean, look at George.  He brought back “Star Wars” and was hated for it.   You, my friend, totally found the perfect storm.  I remember you saying that you felt you really only did two worthwhile films in “Alien” and “Blade Runner”.  It is genius to go back to that well causing everyone, in one full stroke, to completely forget you haven’t had a decent movie in over ten years!

Though, I have to give you some friendly advice.  Don’t get too carried away with revisiting your older properties.  I’ve noticed that people become resentful of the very thing they loved you for.  It is partly the reason why I haven’t made “Any Given Monday”, “Born on the 4th of July Again“, or that cross-over film between “JFK,” “Nixon“, and “W.” (though, I still might, considering how well The Avengers is doing).  Pandering to your audiences is great, but doing it too much will hurt you in the end.  Be very careful before you start working on “More Legend” or “Thelma & Louise: The Early Years”.

Good luck with everything.  And, let me know when your schedule frees up.  We should count our money together.

–Oliver

3 responses to “An Email From Oliver Stone to Ridley Scott

  1. CultureCast-Z May 20, 2012 at 10:50 pm

    Ridley Scott could be exposed as using the souls of orphans to keep himself alive or something and I’d not care and want him to make movies. Prometheus looks excellent so far. Can’t wait for it. As for a possible Blade Runner sequel, well until there’s a script, a cast, and a set shooting date I refuse to believe it’s even going to happen.

Leave a Reply

