Zack & Nick's Culture Cast

Digesting the lowest rung of pop culture so you don't have to!

Why I Plan to See ‘Episode I’ in 3D

I want to go see Star Wars: Episode I – The Phantom Menace 3D. Yep, you read that right – the bad one. Don’t get me wrong. I fully realize this is probably the worst of the Star Wars movies. It has a needlessly convoluted plot, characters with zero personality, cringe worthy acting, and has long stretches which are incredibly dull. Basically, I agree with about 95% of Red Letter Media’s complete take-down of The Phantom Menace. Also, I am not big on 3D films (especially post-converted ones). Yet, I plan to see it anyway.

First of all, there is nostalgia. This movie was released in the exact middle of my high school experience. I remember living through the Episode I hype. It was everywhere, and it was fantastic. My circle of friends at the time all enjoyed genre things and this was the movie of the decade. The mere thought of The Phantom Menace gives me a warm feeling. It is a difficult thing to describe really, but it is partially why I like to throw the movie into the DVD player every now and then. That nostalgia element is fueling my desire to check it out again.

Going off of that, I actually never saw this movie in the theaters. Somehow, I just never got around to it. The first time I actually saw it was when one of my teachers, Mr. Love, forced me to borrow his bootleg copy (Arabic subtitles and all) October 1999. As such, seeing it in the theaters this time will be my first time seeing it on the big screen.

Despite its length, how couldn't this look amazing in 3D?

Finally, say what you will about George Lucas’s storytelling ability of late, but that man doesn’t release anything without a polished look to it. The effects in The Phantom Menace looked amazing back in 1999, and they still hold up today. Several sequences in the film will look fantastic in 3D. Specifically, I am looking forward to seeing the podrace, the climatic space battle, and the Darth Maul duel. The prequels, in general, had amazing sequences that would benefit being in 3D. The spectacle of it all will be worth it.

Obviously, the film is going to be post-converted. However, Lucasfilm isn’t going to release something half-assed (in the effects department). This release has been planned for several years, and with James Cameron doing a 3D post-conversion on Titanic, I fully believe the technology is there to do a out-of-the-ballpark conversion. If anyone has that technology, it is going to be Lucasfilm.

Also, it’s still Star Wars.  And that alone makes it worthwhile to see on the big screen.

Might this 3D release be a huge disappointment? Of course! However, I am not going to allow that to deter me. I’m going to be buying a ticket for Star Wars: Episode I – The Phantom Menace 3D. Will you?

2 responses to “Why I Plan to See ‘Episode I’ in 3D

  1. CultureCast-Z February 10, 2012 at 6:52 am

    I still can’t believe you never saw this in theaters. I saw it three or four times I think. The hype for this movie was extreme. We’ve talked about this before, but it’s the first time I saw pictures of a movie a full 2 years before its release (there was a lot of special coverage in EW).

    • CultureCast-N February 10, 2012 at 10:34 pm

      Yeah. If there was a movie that was going to get special coverage back then, it was going to be this one. If memory serves, Episode I had a really early pre-production start. I’m not surprised that pictures emerged that early.

Leave a Reply

