Zack & Nick's Culture Cast

Digesting the lowest rung of pop culture so you don't have to!

Winter Movie Season!


The summer movie season is over, and for me, it was a busy summer. From movies such as Fast Five and Pirates 4 to Captain America and Horrible Bosses, there was at least a new movie out every week that I wanted to see. This is very unusual for me as I am never one to really to get all that excited about the big summer releases.

But that’s all behind us. Now, we must look ahead to this winter, the other big movie season. Unlike summer 2011, there are not that many flicks that interest me to the point where I want to see them in the theaters. While there are a bunch of films that seem somewhat interesting to me (Three Musketeers, Mission Impossible 4, J. Edgar, Run Diary, etc), I am in no hurry to check them out and will likely wait for the DVD. However, there are three specific films that I’ve already marked my calendar and fully intend to see in the next two months.

A Very Harold and Kumar 3D Christmas (November 4)
I loved the first Harold and Kumar film. The second had its moments, but I think it was trying too hard. However, I have high hopes for this one. Judging from the trailers, it seems like this film is going back to the first movie’s roots in terms of a wacky series of misadventures over the course of one night. I’m not a big fan of the 3D craze, but I plan to check this movie out in 3D purely for what seems to be over-the-top intentionally stupid uses of 3D. Also, it just looks funny. And I like to laugh.

The Muppets (November 23)
After a fantastic marketing campaign, how could anyone not want to see this movie? The early Muppet films are timeless and still hold up today. However, over the past 15 years, Muppet movies have nosedived. They stopped being relevant and seemed to be made for the sake of an easy cash in (plus, it is always a sad thing when a strong film franchise begins to release installments straight to DVD). This film easily has the feeling of those early movies, and has an exciting and fresh element to it. Plus, it has the ever-adorable and talented Amy Adams.  As of now, I refuse to believe this movie won’t be anything short of fantastic.

The Adventures of Tintin: The Secret of the Unicorn (December 21)
This film has gotten a lot of hate so far. Much if it unjustified, I feel. Granted, I know nothing about it whatsoever, but based purely on the trailers, this movie looks like it can be a LOT of fun. I like the pulp adventure feel the film has going for it. This is something I really miss in a lot of action films these days. I like the talent behind the making the film (Steven Spielberg, Peter Jackson, Edgar Wright, Daniel Craig, Simon Pegg), and I even like the stylized motion capture animation. This movie could turn out to be a massive disappointment. However, there is enough there currently to make sure I get a ticket.

What are you looking forward to seeing this winter?

~N

4 responses to “Winter Movie Season!

  1. CultureCast-K October 22, 2011 at 10:00 pm

    Nick, don’t take it offensively because I haven’t watched a single movie this month that wasn’t horror, but I disagree with you on all these movies. I suppose Muppets has the most promise because of its roots and uniqueness. I know Tin Tin was popular back in the day but that’s all I know. Though I can match your most anticipated movies with two:
    Roman Polanski’s Carnage
    Ghost Rider 2: Spirit of Vengeance

  2. CultureCast-Z October 25, 2011 at 12:29 pm

    Tin Tin still looks like Crap Crap to me. I have zero interest in the new Muppets movie either. I just don’t care about the Muppets franchise and haven’t since I was maybe 6 years old. I’m somewhat looking forward to Scorsese’s Hugo movie. It looks like it has some great set design and special effects at least.

    • CultureCast-N October 26, 2011 at 5:37 pm

      See, Hugo looks like it will be the next in the line of completely forgettable, overly-whimsical, we’re-gonna-be-the-next-Harry Potter-but-won’t pieces of garbage starring children whose acting will want to make you scratch your eyes out. I was shocked to see Scorsese’s name attached to it. I guess he wanted a quick paycheck.

Leave a Reply

