Zack & Nick's Culture Cast

Digesting the lowest rung of pop culture so you don't have to!

I Saw Limitless

If you sign up for Vudu service, you get a free $5.99 credit. I used this credit to purchase a viewing of the 2011 thriller film Limitless, starring Bradley Cooper and Robert DeNiro. I remember when I first saw the trailer for Limitless, I thought it looked like Generic Piece of Shit #901. I remember being somewhat surprised by the positive reviews, and then the film even opened #1 in the box office, eventually grossing over 150 million dollars worldwide. Limitless had connected with both journalists and the general public. I thought maybe I should check it out. After watching it, I immediately want to run out and buy the BluRay. I really liked this film.

The plot, in short, revolves around Eddie Morra (Cooper), a down-on-his-luck writer who, after taking what he suspects is an FDA-approved super-vitamin of some sort immediately becomes super-intelligent, confident, and successful. Cooper uses his new-found intelligence to manipulate stock markets, meet beautiful women (and eventually get his girlfriend back), and lead an adventurous life he had only dreamed of before. These scenes are directed beautifully, as Cooper sees numbers everywhere, meets gorgeous women (seducing them with languages he learns quickly), and jumps off of Italian shorelines into the beautiful, blue ocean. Any of these brightly colored montages look fantastic and move at the speed of light.

Of course he faces necessary film obstacles, slowing the film down to a halt at least at two different points. But Limitless moves at a fairly brisk pace and brings a nice visual aesthetic along with it. The film also portrays science fairly dubiously, but this is easy to look past in the context of the world Limitless has set up for itself. The villains, including stereotypical Russian gangsters and Wall Street baddies, are nothing original and in some ways keep the film from being truly good. But Cooper shines in his role, giving it his all the way a young Nic Cage might have in years past. Cooper’s performance makes his character’s struggles both believable and thrilling, and his transition from a complete loser to a business whiz kid is incredibly entertaining.

I got to see Limitless for free, but I would easily buy this film on BluRay in the future. Great visuals, superb direction, and a fantastic Cooper performance combine to make Limitless a solid film experience. Recommended.

-Z-

3 responses to “I Saw Limitless

  1. CultureCast-N August 27, 2011 at 11:33 pm

    I remember seeing previews for this. It looked pretty exciting, but I had completely forgotten about the film until I saw your blog post! I’ll have to check it out soon.

  2. CultureCast-Z August 30, 2011 at 5:33 pm

    A few days later, and I still like it a lot. It has its flaws, but I was genuinely surprised with how good this movie turned out.

  3. CultureCast-N August 31, 2011 at 12:34 am

    Bradly Cooper, I feel, is a better actor than is given credit for.

Leave a Reply

