Zack & Nick's Culture Cast

Digesting the lowest rung of pop culture so you don't have to!

Nick Is Perplexed

As much as I love Terry Crews, I have to ask, how does an extremely vanilla show like Are We There Yet? get a renewal order for 90 episodes (!!), yet a very innovative and smartly written show such as Men of a Certain Age get canceled?

I’m sure the economics of television making are involved (which includes viewership), but I guess I just don’t understand what makes something popular.

What do you think, loyal follower(s)?

2 responses to “Nick Is Perplexed

  1. CultureCast-Z August 22, 2011 at 6:08 pm

    I liked Men of a Certain Age too. I read on the AV Club that it was getting only like 950,000 viewers an episode, which is significantly less than even Rizzoli and Isles, which draws in like 4 million viewers an ep. In related news, who in the holy hell watches Rizzoli and Isles???

    • CultureCast-N August 23, 2011 at 9:58 pm

      I knew MoaCA wasn’t the ratings hit the network probably wanted, so I’m not surprised that it was canceled. I am just always perplexed on how completely vanilla shows get bizarre amounts of ratings when quality and clever shows continually struggle. Also, I have absolutely no idea what “Rizzoli and Isles” is.

Leave a Reply

