The Culture Cast with Zack and Nick

Digesting the lowest rung of pop culture so you don't have to!

The Gorehound’s 8 Most Anticipated Movies of 2014

The 2014 edition of the Gorehounds’s Most Anticipated Movies is upon us and to say the least, the outlook is dismal. Why so few interesting films? Hmm? Sorry, but I don’t have an answer. I’ve scoured the web and can’t find anything worth looking forward to. There are a lot of movies supposed to be released during 2014 but I’ve only selected movies that have already have a determined release date in 2014. Here they are in order or excitement:

2014

Russell Crowe as Noah

Russell Crowe as Noah

1. Noah (March) directed by Darren Aronofsky (Black Swan, The Wrestler, The Fountain, etc.) and starring Russel Crowe, Emma Watson, and bunch of others. I’m really not a big fan of Watson but a biblical, fantastic, and epic drama, this is sure to be incredible.

2. X-Men: Days of Future Past (May) directed by Bryan Singer and starring pretty much every actor from the entire X-Men franchise. It’s gonna be huge. I would mention all the actors I’m excited for but seriously, I’m looking forward to every single one. We got time travel, sentinels, and action. Marvel comics all the way!

3. The Grand Budapest Hotel (March) directed by Wes Anderson (yeah, I’m a sucker) and starring the typical Wes Anderson cast. Not much to say about this because Anderson makes anything entertaining and high quality. Have you seen his spoof horror trailer (http://goo.gl/Fnk4B4)? I love it.

The huge cast of The Grand Budapest Hotel.

The huge cast of The Grand Budapest Hotel.

4. Exodus (December) directed by the master, Ridley Scott. Starring Sigourney Weaver, (unfortunately) Christian Bale, and Aaron Paul. Another biblical story of Moses that is sure to kick ass with Scott at the helm. I really don’t like Christian Bale primarily because of his angry rant but also because he’s never done anything to impress the Gorehound. I also think he is very ugly and annoying. I don’t think any of the recent Batman films were successful because of him. But I like Scott enough to put aside my dislike for Bale.

7. Sin City: A Dame To Kill For (August) directed by Frank Miller and Robert Rodriguez and starring many of the original actors. I love the style. Rourke was such a badass in the original.

daniels25f-1-web6. Dumb and Dumber To (November) directed by the Farrelly brothers (same duo as the original) and starring the the classic Jim Carrey and Jeff Daniels. Once Will Farrell came on the scene with Anchorman, Step Brothers, and all the other shitty comedies, I really got turned off of comedies. They just don’t do anything for me. But a sequel to the original, directed by original directors, and the original actors, this is a formula for success. Carrey and Daniels have done nothing but improve and turn golden since 20 years ago. I am indeed, looking forward to this.

5. The Expendables 3 (August). This is just filling up the list. I thought Tony Jaa was attached but it turns out he isn’t. The cast looks fantastic and you can’t really go wrong with the all-star cast. In particular, I’m looking forward to Wesley Snipes and Harrison Ford. Ford is old but I’ve always seen Snipes as a completely underrated action star. No JCVD this time around.

8. Fast and Furious 7 (July) directed by the horrific James Wan (Saw, Insidious, The Conjuring, etc.) and starring the regulars from the franchise. Of particular interest is the involvement of Kurt Russell and Tony Jaa. I’m sure they’ll only have minor roles but they are some of my favorite actors and aren’t in much so I’ll watch anything they are in. It’s very peculiar project for Wan, a notable horror director, to take on a fast-paced action film. It bridges a love for horror into a genre that the Gorehound does not actively traverse. My condolences for Paul Walker and hope this can be a proper memorial.

Other notable mentions include:  Interstellar, Leprechaun Origins (sadly, a WWE production ), Robopocalypse, and Serena (Cooper and Lawrence teaming up again). No, I am not excited to see Robocop, Transformers, or TMNT. Thanks for reading and hopefully we’ll see more films released as the year goes on. The Gorehound wishes you a horrid and cruel Christmas!

One response to “The Gorehound’s 8 Most Anticipated Movies of 2014

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 221 other followers

